Information Technology BTEC Level 3 National Extended Certificate


Examination Board: Pearson 


Who should take the course?


The course is designed for students who are interested in the study of creating IT systems to manage and share information alongside other fields of study, with a view of progressing onto a higher education course.


You will enjoy this course if you would like to:


  • to develop a common core of IT knowledge
  • increase your awareness and study areas such as the relationship between hardware and software that form an IT system
  • to be able to manage and process data to support a business
  • learn how to use IT to communicate and share information.


What is the course about?


  (Mandatory Units)

Unit 1

Information Technology Systems

You will study the role of computer systems and the implications of their use in personal and professional situations.

Unit 2

Creating Systems to Manage Information

You will study the design, creation, testing and evaluation of a relational database system to manage information.

Unit 3

Using Social Media in Business

You will explore how businesses use social media to promote their products and services. You will also implement social media activities in a business to meet requirements.

  (Optional Units)

Unit 5

Data Modelling

You will study how to data modelling can be used to solve problems, and they will design and implement a data model to meet client requirements.

Unit 6

Web Development

You will investigate website development principles and they design and develop a website using scripting languages.


How is it assessed?


You will be externally assessed in Units 1 and 2 by examinations set by Pearson. Unit 1 is an external assessed examination and Unit 2 is a set activity you carry out practically, 'hands-on' tasks. You will collect evidence of your work for the other units. It will be assessed by your teacher and moderated by Pearson.


Where will it take me?


The BTEC Level 3 National Extended Certificate in Information Technology qualifies for UCAS points so on successful completion you could move on to study for a degree or BTEC Higher National Diploma in related subjects such as IT, Computer Science, Information Systems, Multimedia, Software Engineering, Computer Networking, e-Business and Information Management. You could also go on to work based training such as IT User/Practitioner NVQs or vendor-specific qualifications.