Criminology (WJEC) Level 3 Applied Diploma


Exam Board:  WJEC


What is the course about?  


Criminology is the study of the reasons why individuals commit crime. By understanding why a person commits a crime, we can develop ways to control crime or rehabilitate the criminal. This course will enable you to use theories of criminality to analyse criminal situations and suggest ways of reducing crime. You will also develop the knowledge and skills to research policy in practice, assess campaigns for changes in awareness and examine information to review verdicts in criminal cases. 


This Diploma is comprised of 4 mandatory units which cover the following key subject areas: 


Unit 1: Changing awareness of crime 

Unit 2: Criminological theories 

Unit 3: From crime scene to court room 

Unit 4: Crime and punishment 


How is it assessed? 


Over the two-year course, learners must complete 4 mandatory units, which is taught chronologically. Learners will be assessed through a mixture of internal coursework and external examination assessments. Unit 1 and 2 is taught in the first year and Unit 3 and 4 are taught in the second. Each unit within the qualification has an applied purpose which acts as a focus for the learning in the unit. The applied purpose demands learning related to authentic case studies. 


Where will the Criminology Course take me?  


A WJEC Level 3 Applied Diploma in Criminology is mainly used to support access to higher education degree courses, such as:  


  • • BSc Criminology 
  • • BA Criminology 
  • • BA Criminology and Criminal Justice 
  • • BSc (Hons) Criminology and Psychology 
  • • LLB (Hons) Law with Criminology 
  • • BA (Hons) Criminology and Sociology 
  • • BA (Hons) Criminology
  • • BSc (Hons) Psychology and Sociology 
  • • BSc Criminology with Law 


Alternatively, the qualification allows learners to gain the required understanding and skills to be able to consider employment within some aspects of the criminal justice system, e.g. the National Probation Service, the Courts and Tribunals Service or the National Offender Management Service.